Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Playing in a new galaxy (New Gate & DHD concept art)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Playing in a new galaxy (New Gate & DHD concept art)

So, I'm a fanfic writer, but my fanfic has gone off the rails a little. As in, I rarely write show canon characters anymore, most of it is original characters. It has reached the point where I've decided to start a new spinoff in a new galaxy just for the fun of building a new world.
    That said, a new galaxy requires a new type of Gate, right? Because the Ancients seem to have designed new gates at every opportunity (Milky Way, Pegasus, Destiny...one can imply other, further away galaxies might have had different gates based on what materials were on hand and improved designs etc).

Things to know:
    • First image was concept testing while I was trying to decide what the gate should look like
    • This is not final, just sketches with the purple accents added to see if purple made sense for this Gate.
    • This galaxy and storyline relies heavily on Greek mythology since I think that mythos was severely underused in Stargate as it stands, there are so many stories and such that could have been worked into the Stargate mythos.
    • The symbols are runes instead of Greek symbols if memory serves, because I could not find enough Greek symbols to do up the whole thing and the original SG-1 Milky Way gate already uses constellations.

A bit of backstory, the city this story starts in is called Elysia. She was designed in Pegasus and initially used alongside Atlantis to fight the Wraith, an updated version of the Atlantis Class city ship perhaps, but during the Wraith-Ancient war, the Alterans' society fractured and one of the factions took Elysia and left Pegasus. They didn't flee to Earth or the Milky Way, they fled the opposite direction to another galaxy.