This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Womble's guide to sensible air travel

As some people here already know, I'm a travel agent. Amongst other things, it means that every single day I have to deal with people who get themselves into all kinds of trouble because they were too stupid, too careless or too ignorant to do some very simple, commonsense things that require no special expertise. So to save my fellow Stargate fans some trouble, embarrassment, lost sleep and vocal chords damage, I decided to post a set of basic recommendations on how to avoid ruining your own vacation. Anyone who has additional tips is welcome to pitch in

Note that these recommendations are mostly intended for people taking international rather than domestic flights.

1) Learn to spell your own name in English.

It's remarkable how unaware most people are on the basics of modern air travel, so here it goes: Your name on the flight ticket MUST be an EXACT match to your name on your passport. As in to the letter. A single misspelled letter may be a serious problem if you're headed to places such as the US, Ukraine or China; with two misspelled letters, it doesn't matter where you're headed because the airline won't allow you to board your plane. If you have an Eastern European, Russian or Asian name that can have a zillion spelling variants in English, I would advise you to give it to your travel agent in writing over email, not spell it on the phone.

Fixing a misspelled name in a ticket is not possible. At all. The GDS doesn't work this way. When you ask a travel agent or an airline representative to "fix" the spelling of your name in the ticket, you're basically asking them to make you a new reservation from scratch and scrap the old one. Most airlines won't agree to do it at all; those who do will charge between $50 and $100 for the operation, and you'll be the one paying.