This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stargate Physics Thread

Hi all. I looked for a thread on stargate physics, but found none, so hear is the stargate physics thread. Do you think the stargate is possible. Will people be dematerialized and shot across the galaxy in the coming future? Is it even possible or is it all Psuedo - Science.

Post Here!

No, it's not science, it's science fiction. The whole concept of the wormhole travel is obscure and, pardon me, wrong in so many ways. I'm not an expert in physics but I am reasonably convinced human race is and will be forever confined to this planet (or this solar system, meaning the same in effect).

Comment

There's some theory on this subject, but it requires "stargates" that are a "little" bit bigger

I have a thread somewhere here where you can ask questions. Search for MrNuby and you'll find it.

Comment

dematerialisation is unlikely as heisenbergs uncertainty prnciple says that you cant positively identify every part of an atom.

quote from http://zebu.uoregon.edu/~imamura/208/jan27/hup.html

I cannot predict where a particle will be with 100 % certainty. I can only speak in terms of probabilities. For example, I can say that an atom will be at some location with a 99 % probability, but there will be a 1 % probability it will be somewhere else (in fact, there will be a small but finite probabilty that it will be found across the Universe). This is strange.

We do not know if this indeterminism is actually the way the Universe works because the theory of Quantum Mechanics is probably incomplete. That is, we do not know if the Universe actually behaves in a probabilistic manner (there are many possible paths a particle can follow and the observed path is chosen probabilistically) or if the Universe is deterministic in the sense that I can predict the path a particle will follow with 100 % certainty.

a bit in depth but you should get the drift