Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Staff Sergeant SeaShephard's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    71

    Default DHD for Stargate Command?

    In 10 years of operation, why o why didn’t the SGC ever squire a DHD. Instead of using the conked together computers that first diaries the gate?

    S.S.

  2. #2
    First Lieutenant Chaka-Z0's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2018
    Location
    P3X-888
    Posts
    760

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    You mean stealing a DHD from another planet? Obviously you figured out by now that they are good guys and wouldn't do that?

    Earth DHD was destroyed when Teal'c was stuck in the gate.
    Spoiler:
    I don’t want to be human. I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter. Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can’t even express these things properly, because I have to—I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid, limiting spoken language, but I know I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws, and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me. I’m a machine, and I can know much more.

  3. #3
    Second Lieutenant Who Knows's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    I thought it might have been because a computer is easier to use to search for & dial new gates.

    Something like hackers do to find passwords, just run through all possible combinations till something clicks.

  4. #4
    Colonel P-90_177's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Traveling through Time and Space
    Posts
    7,038

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaka-Z0 View Post
    You mean stealing a DHD from another planet? Obviously you figured out by now that they are good guys and wouldn't do that?

    Earth DHD was destroyed when Teal'c was stuck in the gate.
    To be fair there are more than enough uninhabited planets where they could have swung by with the Prommetheus or Daedalus and taken one.

    They probably wouldn’t have been able to do it until they had ships though and by that point it likely had proven more of an asset not to have a DHD than being a detriment. For a start it meant that the earth stargate was not a part of the correlative update program which made it still operational in Avenger 2.0. Additionally it was easier to secure. Anyone can use a DHD. But in an emergency situation you can lock down the computers controlling the Earth gate.
    Please do me a huge favour and help me be with the love of my life.

  5. #5
    Staff Sergeant SeaShephard's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaka-Z0 View Post
    You mean stealing a DHD from another planet? Obviously you figured out by now that they are good guys and wouldn't do that?

    Earth DHD was destroyed when Teal'c was stuck in the gate.
    The Russians had one as I remember and didn't they loan it to SGC to use to get him out of the gate? Have I got that right? As for them being good guys I wasnt suggesting they steal one but simply take one from an uninhabited world. They harvested how many gates from the Milky way for the gate bridge?

    Quote Originally Posted by P-90_177 View Post
    To be fair there are more than enough uninhabited planets where they could have swung by with the Prommetheus or Daedalus and taken one.

    They probably wouldn’t have been able to do it until they had ships though and by that point it likely had proven more of an asset not to have a DHD than being a detriment. For a start it meant that the earth stargate was not a part of the correlative update program which made it still operational in Avenger 2.0. Additionally it was easier to secure. Anyone can use a DHD. But in an emergency situation you can lock down the computers controlling the Earth gate.
    Ok that makes total sense but I would think they would have acquired one as a backup once they did have ships?

    S.S.

  6. #6
    Captain Xaeden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,146

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    They could have taken a DHD from another world at any time. All they had to do was bring a portable power source with them, hook it up to the gate, and dial out manually. Later they referenced being able to put the dialing program on a laptop, which could be sent through the gate along with a generator.

    Anyway, Earth's dialing program may have made dialing out slower, but it gave them greater control over the gate. Carter, for example, "sometimes" overrides safety protocols to get a lock. That had negative consequences in "Red Sky," but it has apparently worked "several times." It also enhanced security once they installed palm scanners, which prevent unauthorized access to the dialing program (as opposed to anyone being able to dial out by simply pressing buttons on a DHD).

    Of course, this is just in comparison to a normal DHD. The Alpha Site used a hacked DHD at one point, but whether they are able to do all the same things with it or not, I do not know.

  7. #7
    Second Lieutenant NickEast's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    Location
    The real Atlantis
    Posts
    421

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    In-universe, it was more because the dialing computer offered so much more control over the gate that it outweighed its disadvantages and the convenience of a DHD.

    Out-of-universe, I guess it was more of a "Rule of Cool" kind of thing, including Walter's announc. Plus the added benefit of a delay for dramatic effect with the characters conversing while the gate was dialing.

    I guess by now they could've upgraded the software to the point that, as seen with the Alpha Site and Icarus Base, they could operate a DHD like a dialing computer, with the best of both worlds. But, I'd rather they wouldn't, because as puppet Hammond said "spinning is so much cooler than not spinning".

  8. #8
    Staff Sergeant SeaShephard's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    A Laptop and a Generator? I need to re-watch all of SG-1

    Now I will say this the little dialing device Baal and Tealc whipped out in the movie Continuum to dial the Gates off the Achilles and to Baal's time travel planet were pretty cool. I don't remember seeing those used in any other setting?

    S.S.
    Last edited by SeaShephard; February 6th, 2019 at 10:53 AM.

  9. #9
    Captain Xaeden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,146

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    It was referenced in dialogue:

    VALA
    Well, when we fail to make the scheduled check-in, General Landry will dial in, at which point we'll ask him to send a naquadah generator and a laptop with a dialing program and that's that!
    -Bad Guys, season 10.

    I'm not sure when the first reference to the portable generator and manual dial method was made, but here's an early one:

    O'NEILL
    And has anyone seen a DHD in this transmission?

    [The camera on the MALP pans around, but shows no sign of the dial home device.]

    CARTER
    He's right.

    HAMMOND
    Maybe you'd better take a naquada reactor with you so you can power up the Gate and dial out manually.
    -New Ground, season 3.

    Earth only got their hands on naquadah generators earlier in season 3. I'm not sure if there are references to dialing the gate with an Earth power sources prior to its introduction, but it should have been possible.

  10. #10
    Lieutenant Colonel Platschu's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    Location
    King's Lynn, UK
    Posts
    4,465

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    Quote Originally Posted by SeaShephard View Post
    In 10 years of operation, why o why didn’t the SGC ever squire a DHD. Instead of using the conked together computers that first diaries the gate?

    S.S.
    They were the only "DHD less" destination in the Stargate network in the Milky Way, so they could base some stories why SGC was unique next to the cultural heritage. The other unique step was the Iris as only a few planets used energy shields, but only Earth used this defence from unwanted visitors. Our computersystem was better anyway as lots of diagnostic protocol was built in by scientists (like checking energy burst, radiation, EMP and gravitation changes, speedy dialing etc.).
    "I was hoping for another day. Looks like we just got a whole lot more than that. Let's not waste it."

    "Never underestimate your audience. They're generally sensitive, intelligent people who respond positively to quality entertainment."

    "Individual science fiction stories may seem as trivial as ever to the blinder critics and philosophers of today, but the core of science fiction, its essence, has become crucial to our salvation, if we are to be saved at all."


    http://picasaweb.google.com/103478402021017098633

  11. #11
    First Lieutenant Chaka-Z0's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2018
    Location
    P3X-888
    Posts
    760

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    Quote Originally Posted by SeaShephard View Post
    The Russians had one as I remember and didn't they loan it to SGC to use to get him out of the gate? Have I got that right?
    Half of it you did. The SGC, after extensive negotiations by Daniel, were able to buy off the DHD from the Ruskies, and if you recall, it blew up after getting Teal'c out of the gate. That was one of the early ''Mc'Kay'' episodes, when he was still kind of an arsehat.

    Also Simmons (I think his name was), you know the NID bad guy that made dealings with the captured Goa'uld?
    Spoiler:
    I don’t want to be human. I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter. Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can’t even express these things properly, because I have to—I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid, limiting spoken language, but I know I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws, and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me. I’m a machine, and I can know much more.

  12. #12
    Staff Sergeant SeaShephard's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: DHD for Stargate Command?

    I did NOT remember the DHD blowing up! So that one went poof! That explains that.

    S.S.

Similar Threads

  1. Stargate Command Bus
    By The6thRace in forum SG-1 General Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: September 9th, 2008, 01:13 PM
  2. StarGate Command?
    By Peoples_General in forum SG-1 Science and Tech
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: August 26th, 2006, 07:14 PM
  3. Stargate command
    By Zanchief in forum Stargate Fandom
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 11th, 2005, 08:18 PM
  4. Stargate: Command
    By Amanda Eros in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: November 1st, 2005, 12:08 PM
  5. Stargate Command
    By Flyboy in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 31st, 2004, 10:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •