Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Calling all Dune fans: Legendary Entertainment acquires film and TV rights to Dune

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Calling all Dune fans: Legendary Entertainment acquires film and TV rights to Dune

This news is actually a couple months old, but I can't believe this flew under my radar for so long:

http://variety.com/2016/film/news/le...rt-1201923648/

Apparently Legendary came to an agreement with the Herbert estate to develop a film franchise of the Dune novels after years of any new filming attempts being left in development hell.

I've loved Dune since I was a freshman in high school and have been praying for a new film adaptation. I got my hopes up a few years ago when Paramount attempted a reboot of Lynch's film, but that ended up coming to moot. Any Dune fans on the forum? What are your thoughts and what do you hope to see in a new Dune film or TV series?

I thought the David Lynch movie had a fascinating take on the overall feel of the Dune universe. I really liked what they did with it, thought it gave the movie a 'real' feel, real soul to the universe it was depicting. But the movie failed MISERABLY at actually telling the story.

Contrarily, I thought the Sci Fi Channel miniseries from a while back did a pretty solid (albeit not perfect) job of telling the novel's story--but it lacked a certain je-ne-sais-quoi, which made the whole thing feel a bit flat and lifeless.

I don't know if I want another movie. I'm not convinced that Dune's story can be told in a mere two hours. But it might be nice to see a fresh take on it in miniseries format.

(I'm speaking only about the first novel here, not the sequels)

On another note, it's funny that this thread should come up today. I've been thinking about doing a fresh re-read of the series lately. Maybe this is a sign?