the importance of general hammond's character

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

the importance of general hammond's character

apologies ahead of time for being a stargate noob here but im watching the entire series for the first time and am now at the first episode of season 8. since somebody spoiled it for me, i already know that general hammond will no longer head for the sgc for the remainder of the series. although ive always admired his character, i didnt realize just how important his character was to the whole sg-1 series formula. although he didnt nearly get as much screen time as the main cast, just the fact that we knew that he was back at sgc to command it gave a certain likeable structure to the show that i wasnt aware of until he was gone as a regular character. plus i know we all loved it when bra'tac would refer to him as "hammond of texas", that always put a smile on my face. i found myself missing his character more than i originally thought i would.

someone told me that the reason don davis left the show as a regular character was because he was having health problems and that he had to cutback on his workload. you have to wonder if richard dean anderson wouldve stayed on after season 8 if don davis hadnt left. the show already feels a lot more hollow without hammond commanding sgc.

i really wanted to give torri higginson a chance but i kept finding myself cringing during her scenes. it seems like michael shanks was covering her tracks, making up for her deficiencies in many of the scenes in that episode. from what ive seen so far, she just doesnt seem to play an authoritative figure very well (especially compared to don davis). i personally felt that jessica steen was a much better choice as dr weir but thats just me. from what i understand, torri higginson is a regular character on atlantis and hope and pray she does a better job on that show than what ive seen of her on sg-1 so far.