Why do you write fan fiction?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why do you write fan fiction?

I don't understand the concept of fan fiction. Could someone clue me in? As a writer, I am writing a science-fiction novel revolving around a time machine. I am working on the outline and notes. I plan to finish the first draft by Christmas. I'm hoping to find a publisher and get the process started some time in 2012. Why write fan fiction, considering you can't get it published? That's what puzzles me. Is it just a hobby? Are you a writer, and it's just something on the side?

It's a hobby! I love the Stargate shows (well, not so much SGU, but that's a different story), and I always imagined that there was much more to the (fictional) Universe than what the show could portray. Writing fan fiction gives me an outlet to shape and share that imagination! I don't want to get it published, because it's just something I do for fun. It's enough for me to write a little bit and then posting it online. I know that some people like writing really long pieces of fan fiction, but that's not the way I do it. Personally, I could never write a full-length book based on fan fiction. That's not what it's about; it's about a small hobby that I occasionally practice.
    My Stargate fan fiction @ FF.net | NEW: When Cassie Calls Teal'c.

Comment

There are a few fanfiction writers who are commercially published authors in their own right.

I write because it's fun. Because it allows me to finish storylines that I feel that the PTB left unfinished, or write stories of my own using these characters that I feel that I know so very well.

Also, it's allowing me to find my voice as a writer, and practice a craft that I've always been interested in honing.