This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spoiler tag over used?

As a relatively new person to these forums I must say that people really go a little crazy wuith the "spoiler" tag.
    I realize it's to get you to look at their post but it's a bit much.
    No disrespect intended

http://forum.gateworld.net/faq.php?f...q_spoilerspace
    https://twitter.com/#!/Solar_wind84

Comment

I like the use of spoiler tags, and would rather someone be cautious.
      sigpic

Comment

If anything the spoiler tag isn't used enough. How may times have I been spoiled by a show because a person doesn't use the spoiler tag?
        Originally posted by aretood2
        Jelgate is right

Comment

i agree with PA, they are also usefull when posting pics over 700px wide, as to avoid page stretching.
          Spoiler:
          Disclaimer:
          I have been using this username since 1998, it has no connection to "The Last Airbender", or James Cameron's movie.
          Quotes!
          - "Things will not calm down, Daniel Jackson, they will in fact calm up!"
          - "I hope you like Guinness Sir, I find it a refreshing alternative to... food"
          - "I'm Beginning to regret staying up late to watch "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigalo" last night... Check that, i regretted it almost immediately"
          sigpic

Comment

I do see instances where it seems a bit silly for people to be using tags (discussing spoilers within the official ep discussion thread, for instance) but I prefer overcaution to unthinking stupidity and as AvatarIII said, sometimes it's more about conserving space than hiding stuff that's actually a spoiler, and I appreciate that, too.

Comment

spoiler tags are useful for a lot of things, yes, they are used frequently, but the reason they are there is to give the poster viewing it a choice weather or not to view its contents. i admit some people do misuse spoiler tags but these people are frankly silly to do so.