X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Complainer's Challenge

What this thread is about
    I've noticed a trend on this forum lately: many people are complaining about the writing for Stargate. I think it's almost become a mantra for some people to just blame the writers for everything they don't like and then insult the work they do.

I have maintained since I started posting here that the writing is in fact not declining, but getting better. TPTB know exactly what they're doing and they do it well. I can't say it enough: they do an excellent job.

Way too many people on these forums complain their heads off without EVER having tried to write fiction, making complaints like, "I could have done better."

Who am I to make this challenge?
    I consider myself a professional Science Fiction writer. I've been writing mostly Science Fiction for more than ten years and have learned a great deal in that time about what it takes to write a good story.

DISCLAIMER: I'm not published yet, but I have placed in the semi-finals of an international Science Fiction short story contest (http://www.writersofthefuture.com/). Almost got prize money on that one... I also once got one of my stories back with "Very good story!" hand written on the return letter. Apparently, someone else's was better. Oh well, I'll take encouragement wherever I can get it.

The Challenge (For Complainers)
    Quite simply put, you need to sit down and try writing fiction. Writing good fiction is quite a bit more difficult than you think. Especially when you have a huge amount of Canon to be consistent with.

Science Fiction is even harder, because if you aren't consistent with known science, no matter how obscure, someone will complain.