Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best SG-1 episode to show to an 'outsider'?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best SG-1 episode to show to an 'outsider'?

Hi! Newbie here- I usually lurk once in a while... I'm un-lurking due to a big decision I need to make, and would love to get input from y'all.
    My best friend has promised to watch Stargate SG-1 episodes for my birthday. She's not a science fiction fan, but I've been gushing about SG-1 for years, and I've finally broken her down.
    Now- the BIG QUESTION... which episode do I show her first???
    I have Seasons 1-8 on DVD. Keep in mind that she's not a big science fiction fan... I'm thinking to avoid any Unas episodes.
    Let the opinions begin! (Deadline is Feb 10th.)

Disclosure or Inauguration (are the best for an stargate intro)
    or my favorite trilogy Avalon/Origin (i showed this eps to my friends and they get hooked xD)

Dont use Threads xD (one friend mine saw that ep first, was very confusin XD)
    Hallowed are the Ori !!!
    Follow the path of the Enlightment !
    Why Sg1 !!?? Why not me!!?? Why !!??

Comment

My hub and I just started to rewatch the entire SG-1 series on DVD (it's fun to see how the gang has changed over the years!). If you want to start with an early ep, Children of the Gods sets everything up w/o being too sci-fi. But if you don't want to go through all of the introduction/exposition, a couple of my faves from Season 1 are The First Commandment and Thor's Hammer. Yes, TH has an Unas in it, but it's really good.

It all depends upon what you're friend is into normally. If it's "romance," pick A Hundred Days or any of the smoochy eps (pick your fave character). If she likes The X-Files, choose an ep where the Team is on Earth, especially during Jonas' time w/ the Team. (SG-1 on Earth is The X-Files, IMHO.) If she's into character interaction, there's several great eps out there - maybe Beneath the Surface?