Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Staff Sergeant -)GMM(-'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    56

    Default dialing every gate

    what would happen if you dialed every gate in the galaxy like baal did and stepped through? the dakara beam was replicated (ha, just realised the pun) so it would spread across all the worlds in the galaxy, so would a person/MALP be replicated millions of times over? perhaps that's how Baal created all his clones by dialing a few gates at the same time and stepping through

    GMM

  2. #2
    Brigadier General SaberBlade's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Location
    Belfast, UK.
    Posts
    8,100

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    I am not sure that would work. It's like the wave wasn't copied or duplicated, but split up so the expanding wave would arrive on a planet and continue to expand.

    If Baal walked through, it's possible he'd have been sliced into thousands of pieces



  3. #3
    Major
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In Sam's lab
    Posts
    2,853

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    I agree with SaberBlade. It would not have been possible for the energy wave to duplicate, because of the law of energy preservation.

  4. #4
    Second Lieutenant AscendedWarrior's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    397

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    Quote Originally Posted by TheNarims View Post
    I agree with SaberBlade. It would not have been possible for the energy wave to duplicate, because of the law of energy preservation.
    No but every single DHD could add energy so that the wave would be "duplicated" and since mass = energy it might work with a person. Couse we know the DHD on the other side should help with energy if the connection fails and there's no energy for the object to materialize, we learned that in 48 Hours.

  5. #5
    Major
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In Sam's lab
    Posts
    2,853

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    That is also a possibility. But since the SGC does not have a DHD it would not have worked on earth.

  6. #6
    Second Lieutenant AscendedWarrior's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    397

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    Quote Originally Posted by TheNarims View Post
    That is also a possibility. But since the SGC does not have a DHD it would not have worked on earth.
    No, but did we se it expand across the entire earth? I only remember we saw shots from the SGC. It might not have spread across the entire earth, so no added energy was needed.

  7. #7
    Staff Sergeant -)GMM(-'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    i thought the dakara device only had enough energy to envelope a world and the surrounding space (or at least that's what i understood from the dialogue) which was why the only possible conclusion i could come up with would be that the form of energy that was emitted could only have been duplicated for some reason, i kinda thought that perhaps the stargates/wormhole/dhds would have drawn the power needed or something...

    if that isn't the case, how does the dakara device work (in theory)?

    GMM

  8. #8
    First Lieutenant .jolinar.'s Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Terra-Firma. England
    Posts
    724

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    Quote Originally Posted by SaberBlade View Post
    I am not sure that would work. It's like the wave wasn't copied or duplicated, but split up so the expanding wave would arrive on a planet and continue to expand.

    If Baal walked through, it's possible he'd have been sliced into thousands of pieces
    I belive this is an accurate assesment of the situation

    Spoiler:

    Carter?

    Sir, this is the 5th incoming wormhole in the last hour & a half

    Ok, I'm here 2 hours early, when did you get here?

    I... haven't left yet

    Carter, didn't I ORDER you to get a life?

    ---------------------------------------------------

    A fools paradise is a wise mans prison

    Never judge a book by it's cover

    One mans ceiling is another mans floor

    Never...run with sissors?


  9. #9
    Major
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,083

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    A better question would be, HOW do you dial every gate in the galaxy? Just press in the 6 symbols over and over then the 7th as it would be the same for all of them or is it an auto dialer? An auto dialer would make more sense since there are thousands of gates. Anybody have any ideas on how it works?

    AGT58

  10. #10
    Brigadier General SaberBlade's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Location
    Belfast, UK.
    Posts
    8,100

    Default Re: dialing every gate

    Well we have seen the stargate do it before, in Window of Opportunity, but just on a much bigger scale, so it's something that seems to be something the gate can do.

    It's possible it just uses the corilative update program to connect to each gate, but rather than transmit updated coordinates, it sends part of a wave to the other side.



Similar Threads

  1. Atlantis Gate Dialing
    By acook59 in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: December 29th, 2006, 07:28 AM
  2. When the gate is dialing...
    By Spacegirlnz in forum Season Ten
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 27th, 2006, 12:07 AM
  3. Dialing Every Gate At Once
    By NotAllowedToNameAnything.Ever. in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 13th, 2005, 07:56 PM
  4. Manual Gate Dialing
    By JediTrilobite in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 9th, 2004, 09:31 PM
  5. wraith dialing the gate?
    By auir999 in forum SGA General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 26th, 2004, 02:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •