Page 4 of 52 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 1038
  1. #61
    Major Eoin's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dreamland
    Posts
    2,559

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by Major Tyler
    Uh oh... Sorry.
    lol nothing to be sorry about...im just glad that i know how to help GW
    The doctor told me Im insane, thank God! its so much better then being outsane!



  2. #62
    Brigadier General LoneStar1836's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Posts
    9,392

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by gatelover12
    right click in the blocked area, then click settings and it will shade it for you.
    Yeah I did that when I first couldn’t figure out why it wouldn’t allow me to click on any menus. I still find it aggravating though.

    There needs to be some level of hell reserved for whoever created drop-down ads.
    IMO always implied.

  3. #63
    Captain uknesvuinng's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Location
    /home/uknesvuinng
    Posts
    1,504

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by LoneStar1836
    Yeah I did that when I first couldn’t figure out why it wouldn’t allow me to click on any menus. I still find it aggravating though.

    There needs to be some level of hell reserved for whoever created drop-down ads.
    ...right next door to the guys who invented pop-ups.
    Cogito ergo dubito.

    "How happy are the astrologers if they tell one truth to a hundred lies, while other people lose all credibility if they tell one lie to a hundred truths." - Francesco Guicciardini

    An escalator can never be broken, it can only become stairs. You never see "Escalator temporarily out of service." It's "Escalator temporarily stairs. Sorry for the convenience." - Mitch Hedberg

  4. #64
    Major General greytop's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Back at my moonbase
    Posts
    12,931

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    This is not about the drop down ads that mess up forum.

    But is anyone else having the same ad over and over?


    EDIT: It stop playing the same thing about CST (US).
    Last edited by greytop; February 13th, 2006 at 09:32 PM.

  5. #65
    Captain
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,521

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    It's odd because that same poltergeist ad on the main gateworld forum has no problem at all. It displays perfectly and doesn't interfere with the nav area. Only on the forums

  6. #66
    Mr. Parker gatelover12's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    Location
    In the enlightened hive, ascending.
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    MODS! A new ad for "V for Vendetta is causing the same problem!

  7. #67
    Captain walterIsTheMan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Location
    helping Walter run a gate diagnostic
    Posts
    1,263

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by gatelover12
    MODS! A new ad for "V for Vendetta is causing the same problem!

  8. #68
    Colonel ToasterOnFire's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2005
    Location
    in the lab
    Posts
    5,113

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Jeez, this ad for V is for Vendetta used to pop up only occasionally and kill all the url tags but now it's popping up almost EVERY TIME I move around the forum. *grumble*

    Do you guys get more revenue from the popdown ads instead of the regular, nonanimated ones?

  9. #69
    Major General jckfan55's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Carter's Lab
    Posts
    10,278

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    just when you think it's safe--another movie ad messes up the site. Grrr.

  10. #70
    Lieutenant General Pharaoh Atem's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    19,734

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    o well live with it it's never going to be perfect

  11. #71
    Colonel Missster.Freeman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NCC-1701
    Posts
    6,575

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    ToasterOnFire, if you're using Firefox, just filter out the V for Vendetta advert using Adblock. All the other adverts will still load.
    "Captain, you almost make me believe in luck."

  12. #72
    Lieutenant General Pharaoh Atem's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    19,734

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    i'm not having any trouble with that ad huh

  13. #73
    Colonel Missster.Freeman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NCC-1701
    Posts
    6,575

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    I've never seen that ad either. Although, I do have *doubleclick* as a wildcard in the filter list.
    "Captain, you almost make me believe in luck."

  14. #74
    First Lieutenant
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    709

    Post Re: Adds that Disable Menus

    I know I've mentioned this on another topic about forum posting troubles...

    Sometimes, in my situation- depending on the volume of people viewing the entire forums (visitors and registered members), sometimes depends on the ads freezing up the screen - thus preventing logging in or moving about to view another topic. That's usually where my frustration comes from.

    I've learned a way around it: which means find a forum or topic that you can log into and start from there (and I usually browse via Firefox). Sometimes that required opening up a new window and closing the former. From that point forward, once I found a topic or forum index page that didn't have the ads that freeze up everything else, it seemed to be okay.

    Maybe someone out there is just trying to find ways to stop us from yacking and reading too much, unless it's their favorite item (conspiracy theory!).

    I did like the guest Log-in whenever it was there in recent weeks. It sort of stopped this freezing to log-in problem for a while... (*sigh*)

  15. #75
    Worf ChevronSeven's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Location
    At or near a tennis court
    Posts
    3,327

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by Missster.Freeman
    ToasterOnFire, if you're using Firefox, just filter out the V for Vendetta advert using Adblock. All the other adverts will still load.
    I'm new to Firefox. Where can I find this and use Adblock?

  16. #76
    Colonel Missster.Freeman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NCC-1701
    Posts
    6,575

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by ChevronSeven
    I'm new to Firefox. Where can I find this and use Adblock?
    Hi. Sorry, I didn't read your post till now. Have you installed Adblock yet? If you haven't, you will find it here - https://addons.mozilla.org/extension...cation=firefox

    Just click on the Install Now link in the yellow box and follow the dialog instructions.

    If you DO decide to use Adblock, remember to allow adverts on GateWorld, as every page impression provides GateWorld with revenue.
    "Captain, you almost make me believe in luck."

  17. #77

    Default Re: new ad for poltergeist stops menus working

    Quote Originally Posted by Skydiver
    what i do?

    i hate, hate, HATE flash ads

    >>snip<<flash is evil and should be banned!!!!!!!!
    I couldn't agree more. I HATE moving ANYTHING on a page that I'm trying to read - text, images, blinkies, UGH. Flash is the most aggrivating thing on the internet that's not actually adware/spyware/virii/etc. Flash is actually why I switched to Firefox from IE - there's a extension called Flashblock that must have been sent directly from God to the internet it's so glorious. It by default blocks anything flash and shows a little play button instead. If you want or need to see it, like streaming video or Scifi's website, you click on the play button and it plays that particular bit of flash just as if it'd never been blocked. If it's like a newspaper ad.... you just never click on it. Heaven

    And I'm glad to see Gateworld's owner understands that it's not stealing to block ads. I personally try to instead use the Amazon link to buy the DVDs, but I'm never very clear on if the site actually gets any support after I browse around loading my cart up with bunches of other stuff.

  18. #78
    First Lieutenant
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    709

    Angry Re: Ads that Disable Menus

    seeing RED!! (growl!)

    that blasted ad for "V for Vendetta" popped up a few days ago and blocked my ability to vote on GW's main page. (...and it *is* more ever present in recent days/weeks than it used to be.)

    now that same ad popped up several times -within the span of a few minutes- in my attempt to post this message here. It's taken several times just to enter a new screen with a reply box without that ad. And one time something dropped down with it in the background.

    It's almost as if that particular ad has a "V for Vendetta" against posting to GW's forum topics - conspiracy theory!

    EDIT: (agh!!) guess which ad just popped up again, while submitting "reply" on this post...?? I think it goes thru cycles.

  19. #79
    First Lieutenant
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    981

    Default Re: Ads that Disable Menus

    Usually, I can just refresh the page once and the blasted red V banner ad goes away. However, for whatever reason, tonight it just is not working. Everytime I refresh, I keep getting that same ad. Took forever to log-in and is causing a navigation headache. Oh well, will just come back later.

  20. #80
    Data ShadowMaat's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Doctor Horrible's Lab
    Posts
    17,531

    Default Re: Ads that Disable Menus

    No kidding. This Vendetta thing is seriously pissing me off. I have a hard enough time right now even GETTING to the forum without having to hit refresh a dozen fracking times to get rid of the damn ad so I can log in.

    Or maybe Greg can add a login window to the BOTTOM of the page.

Tags for this Thread

Similar Threads

  1. I'm looking from some oma desala quotes...please provide.
    By sharky277 in forum General Stargate Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2013, 01:28 AM
  2. Need help that only a Stargate Fan can provide!
    By Cynycal in forum General Sci-Fi and Fantasy
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: March 5th, 2008, 07:27 AM
  3. Problems With The News Articles At GateWorld
    By Gate Freak in forum GateWorld Features
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 30th, 2005, 12:26 PM
  4. "The Tower" New Details from Gateworld
    By TheWarrior in forum SGA General Discussion
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: August 6th, 2005, 08:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •