TW - British/Welsh Culture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TW - British/Welsh Culture

I thought it might be good to have a forum to discuss British/Welsh culture, for those of us who don't really understand the differences or how accurate everything on TW is. I'm new to TW, but have watched them all and really enjoy that it shows (as far as I know) more of the British/Welsh culture than DW, who is always in different places. I'll put out a few questions for discussion and please expand or take it away from there. I'm in no way trying to make fun of the culture, I enjoy it, I just like to understand things!

Do British/Welsh people really drink that much tea?
    Is Ianto a traditional Welsh or British name?
    Are certain characters more Welsh/English and/or British?
    How do British identify themselves? British or Welsh/English/Scottish/Irish?
    Does British TV allow all the language on public broadcast?
    Are Bloody and B***cks (spelling?) considered cuss words equal to the F or S word?

This should be a good start?
    Last edited by Spimman; 09 June 2010, 06:10 AM.
    sigpic

Originally posted by Spimman View Post
    Some do, not all.

Is Ianto a traditional Welsh or British name?
    Its a Welsh name. Its the pet form of the name Ifan which in itself is one of the Welsh forms of John.

Are certain characters more Welsh/English and/or British?
    Gwen is very much your typical South Wales girl, born and breed.

How do British identify themselves? British or Welsh/English/Scottish/Irish?
    Personally i tend to find (based on where i grew up, and where i now work) that people identify themselves more with their home nation rather than British.

Does British TV allow all the language on public broadcast?
    Depends on the channel and what time it airs.

Are Bloody and Bolux (spelling?) considered cuss words equal to the F or S word?
    No, their more mild.
    Last edited by Madwelshboy; 08 June 2010, 12:35 PM.

Comment