X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cpt Kirk Diplomacy Works in History

Cpt Kirk Diplomacy Works in History
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I’m not a history expert so this is just to the best of my amateur recall and opinion. (spelling is a learning disablity of mine please excuse what my spell checker misses) I welcome more comment and more accurate historical information. I brought this up after the Sanctuary episode and the actual description of this being Captain Kirk behavior but this applies to way more SG-1 episodes than this. SG-1 here is used for both shows unless specified.

My opinion is romancing the alien female has been a very common part of the history of exploration on Earth and these romances have been sometimes very helpful for the exploriers. I also observe that the explorers romancing the locals is very common (almost the rule) and that very often the local females are very interested in returning the romances.

The Captain Kirk behavior type I believe was not originated by Star Trek I believe that Trek just copied this from earlier fiction which got the idea from historical accounts. (Some of these historical accounts were highly inaccurate and partially fictional but did not make up the benefits of some romances even if the persons were misidentified)

Most successful romance I recall was Cortez for an Mexican area Indian woman. This woman helped greatly with Cortez finding Indian allies and giving advice that helped Cortez to conquer the Aztecs. I believe from my recall of my Advanced Latin American History course that this woman is a national villain in Mexico today but I cannot recall her name or if I spelled Cortez right.

Of course in American history we have Pocahontas who greatly helped with initial good relations. I recall more vaguely many instances of sailers or explorers benefiting from relationships from at least getting provisions from their dalliances with local women.