yet another ZPM thread, sorry,

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

yet another ZPM thread, sorry,

I know there are a lot of posts on this, but I have an issue with the concept of the ZPM, and given there are a huge number of posts on this forum about connecting to the Destiny by way of ZPM, and the counter arguments their not powerful enough-1/2 empty and whatnot.

I don't take issue with the concept of requiring multiple ZPM to power something like Atlantis, I'm thinking there might be a saturation point in the amount of power it can give out (as I'm a bio student I'm going to use an analogy I can explain properly)

if we consider the ZPM to be equivalent to a cell, and that power leaving through a form of diffusion. on the basis that zero-point energy is the lowest possible energy state it can be, the energy must be extracted. so whilst not an accurate fit, I consider this somewhat like active transport. in that it must be extracted across the gradient.
    Spoiler:
    the error in this analogy is that it requires energy to push against the gradient, which may or may not be the case here, however the process inevitably uses more energy than it produces, so fails to accurately fit with how we've seen the ZPM work
    assuming its similar this requires a mechanism to transport the energy, a conduit of sorts (protein channel in a cell) given that the cell has a maximum surface area, this limits the number of channels that can move power out of the cell. so when these channels are pumping as much energy out as they possibly can, there is a limit to the overall power able to be emitted.

now if you have a power need that is more than that amount, you need to have multiple power sources to supply it, hence why Atlantis would need three ZPM to work at 100% capacity.

my issue with the concept of the ZPM is this, I cant see how they can run out of energy, if this is the case then they aren't utilizing zero-point energy at all. I quote wiki here