This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Atlantis Fic's constent hurt

I have read a lot of Atlantis fics and it seems a lot of them like to greatly abuse the characters espacially Sheppard and McKay. I'm new to fan fic and have not readmuch other then Atlantis ones but I just want to know why writers enjoy hurting them so much.

5th Season of Supernatural Premiering September 10th!
    Spoiler:

yes that's a topic I have thought about a lot because when I first discovered fanfic I was struck by the sometimes excessive use of "whumping" as I came to know it. But not all fics are that way, some use it sparingly. Some not at all.

It's not just fanfic that does it. Hurting the hero is a time-honored device for getting the reader involved. It can be exciting or engender a warm and fuzzy feeling, concern, for the character. In the novel The Bourne Identity, we start with the hero being shot several times and floating in the sea, cared for by a drunken doctor (if I remember the story correctly, been a long time) and look at poor Luke Skywalker - ouch, my hand! I just reran Master and Commander--anybody see that? Poor doctor gets shot accidentally and has to operate on himself! Yikes! How about poor Frodo in Lord of the Rings trilogy? Sam had to practically carry him by the end he was in such a sad state. Old TV westerns used it a lot too, rattlesnake bites, gunshots, flogging at sea or prison episodes. It's endless.

As for why writers do it: Anything to stress and test the emotional core of the hero and those around him. Writing is all about what can be done, where it takes you, and in that way, the writer is on his own adventure without getting hurt herself/himself. yeah, it's fun. Oh those wicked, wicked writers!

Also, fanfic is written by mostly amateurs, so I think the tendency is to take the hurt the hero thing over the top. If you look at the show SGA, there is very little hurting. The writing is restrained and careful.