This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Archetectural cameos

I'm not in any sense an architect, and it has nothing to do with what I'm studying in college, but I've always been a bit of a casual observer of how designs evolve over time, both in reality and in sci-fi. The original film and early SG-1 defined the Goa'uld "style", with it's curvy lines over obsidian surfaces, the most obvious example being the Milky Way stargates. After finding out that the Ancients built the stargates, it was easy to assume that the Goa'uld adapted the artistic look of the stargate design and applied it to themselves so as to legitimize their claim over it's creation.

The design spread to the Jaffa, and remains in Goa'uld designs to this day. It's obvious the Ancients allowed their artistic evolution to continue due to the lack of this specific design in Atlantis or their Aurora-class ships. Clearly, then, the curvy-lines-on-obsidian-surface motif was a relatively early architectural habit.

We then see the same design on the Ark of Truth, further solidifying this.

What I love is that the creators of SGU, at least perhaps the set designs (or someone), made the choice to include this design all throughout Destiny. This subtle hint in the walls themselves seems to present a clue toward the Destiny's placement in the Ancients' history.