This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Ingredients For A Good SF Film or TV Series

My argument has always been that SF needed to shed the trappings of the old and bring in the new, i.e. Firefly, BSG and SGU. But, somewhere in the translation I found myself wondering to myself, I am an SF writer but I don't really know SF enough to really try to retcon the whole thing so I thought up this thread. Basically, you tell us what little details make you interested in watching SF movie x and SF TV series y...
    :
    "There must be some way out of here..."

I personally prefer hard science fiction and more adventure/exploration based science fiction. I'm currently missing this type of science fiction on tv. Currently the focus of science fiction shows seems to be on drama, rather then the science and exploration. Even the Stragate franchise has decided to focus more on drama with SGU.

There are also currently no science fiction shows on tv that take place in the future to my knowledge). I think this is a shame. Part of what made Star Trek so interesting is that it painted a picture of what we might be like in a few centuries. I think science fiction is an excellent genre for pointing out how science and technology change our culture.

Good science fiction speaks to our hopes and fears of the future. It is a reflection of humanities curiosity and sense of adventure, of our need to understand and explore the universe.
    sigpic

Comment

I think my opinion on the matter can be best summed up as the blending of the two opposite statements made by destinymaker and then Betelgeuze. That is to say, a somewhat dark, character-focused plot imbued with high levels of adventure and social commentary would be ideal.