PDA

View Full Version : Is Atlantis' ZPM normally being used?



Ripple in Space
March 23rd, 2008, 01:03 PM
Is Atlantis' ZPM normally being used? I don't think it should be since I'm pretty sure multiple Mk. 2 Naquada Generators can power all but 3 systems (shields, hyperdrive and intergalactic wormhole activation).

Invictus
March 23rd, 2008, 01:14 PM
The answer to your question is yes. And the answer to your affirmation is maybe you are right, but the idea is that Atlantis can't be only the greatest power, from time to time it has to look weak, do you catch my idea? :D

Jeffala
March 23rd, 2008, 01:28 PM
The ZPM provides power to a ship tracking system that caused Aurora to begin broadcasting its position ("Aurora").

Dr.Mckay
March 23rd, 2008, 01:33 PM
No.
the ZPM is hooked on, but they dont use anything that takes alot of enerngy.
Unless the ZPM is needed, i.e drones, hyperdrive shields etc., they will not use the ZPM, but they will use naquadah generators.
Spoiler:
in midway, Carter couldn't even get Teal'c a one walk way from atlantis to SGC with the ZPm, and teal'c had to use midway.. cheapos llol. HES DONE MORE THAN YOU ALL HAVE DONE FFS. :)

Mr.Dr.Prof.Col.John Sheppard
March 23rd, 2008, 02:01 PM
yes cause it needs to be on if they need to switch to shields in case of an attack by the wraith or the replicators:mckayanime18:

TOIVA
March 23rd, 2008, 03:59 PM
No.
the ZPM is hooked on, but they dont use anything that takes alot of enerngy.
Unless the ZPM is needed, i.e drones, hyperdrive shields etc., they will not use the ZPM, but they will use naquadah generators.
Spoiler:
in midway, Carter couldn't even get Teal'c a one walk way from atlantis to SGC with the ZPm, and teal'c had to use midway.. cheapos llol. HES DONE MORE THAN YOU ALL HAVE DONE FFS. :)

Yes, the ZPM is ready for use, but most systems are powered by naquadah generators.

Tupopoflungo
March 23rd, 2008, 06:37 PM
No.
the ZPM is hooked on, but they dont use anything that takes alot of enerngy.
Unless the ZPM is needed, i.e drones, hyperdrive shields etc., they will not use the ZPM, but they will use naquadah generators.
Spoiler:
in midway, Carter couldn't even get Teal'c a one walk way from atlantis to SGC with the ZPm, and teal'c had to use midway.. cheapos llol. HES DONE MORE THAN YOU ALL HAVE DONE FFS. :)


**Sigh**

That is because, after "Tabula Rasa" there was a 24 hour MANDATORY quarantine on the midway, to prevent you from bringing back any viruses or diseases. It is mentioned several times throughout the episode that this quarantine exists, Dr Lee mentions it upon the heroes arrival on the midway, John and Ronon talk about it before they leave...and I think one other time. Also, this quarantine is a MAJOR plot point for the episode, because if it did not exist Teal'c and Ronon would have already been on earth when the stun bomb came through. Therefore preventing them from saving the world...


**sigh**

[/rant]

andy tyler
March 23rd, 2008, 08:37 PM
the ZPM is being used to power normal daily systems that drain hardly any power. Remember siege part III? One ZPM can power the shields "indefinitely" if nobody is firing on it. It'd be fair to say one ZPM can power the city for many many years.

Ripple in Space
March 23rd, 2008, 09:55 PM
the ZPM is being used to power normal daily systems that drain hardly any power. Remember siege part III? One ZPM can power the shields "indefinitely" if nobody is firing on it. It'd be fair to say one ZPM can power the city for many many years.

I think that's how it is, but that's moronic. ZPMs are essentially irreplaceable. I don't care if the city only uses 0.0000000001% of the ZPM per year, they can't replace it, but it's the only power source that can power the shields. Shouldn't everything regularly be running on Naquada Generators which are replaceable?

gwangung
March 23rd, 2008, 10:11 PM
I think that's how it is, but that's moronic. ZPMs are essentially irreplaceable. I don't care if the city only uses 0.0000000001% of the ZPM per year, they can't replace it, but it's the only power source that can power the shields. Shouldn't everything regularly be running on Naquada Generators which are replaceable?

Not to squabble about it, but for security purposes, it's probably a good idea to keep the ZPMs online and ready to supply juice to defense, but not have them supply significant power all the time. There's probably a warm up time to get the ZPM on line and going, and while it can be bypassed in an emergency, you probably don't want to do it when you don't have to.

andy tyler
March 23rd, 2008, 10:33 PM
Well all we know is that in 25 years there will be a mark 12 naquadah generator capable of powering the shields for defensive purposes.

PG15
March 23rd, 2008, 10:47 PM
There's probably a warm up time to get the ZPM on line and going, and while it can be bypassed in an emergency, you probably don't want to do it when you don't have to.

While I agree with you that having the ZPM in place would cut down reaction time, we have seen that they are pretty much plug-and-play, like in Siege Part 3.

thekillman
March 23rd, 2008, 11:14 PM
yes they are plug and play. i think that 70% of the used systems is powered by naq generators, the rest by zpm.

TOIVA
March 24th, 2008, 01:34 AM
As I said before, it seems to me perfectly logic all the daily systems are powered by naquadah, but the ZPM is still ready.(not waiting in McKay's bedroom:))