Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do Stargate fans call themselves?

Hello all,

I'm a little new to SG-1, or at least not as familiar with this fandom as a lot of you guys are. So I'm curious to ask, what are we called, or what do we call ourselves? Trek fans are Trekkers, Farscape fans are Scapers...

Who are we? Gaters? Gateheads?
    Gater
    48.97%
    Gatehead
    17.01%
    Gate Fan
    7.22%
    Gatie
    2.06%
    A different term
    4.64%
    I don't call myself a nickname
    20.10%
    I am on a mission to acquire the SG-1 DVDs, since I wish to know all about this great universe...

I have the original movie and Season 1 on DVD.

Update: I also have Seasons 2 and 3 on DVD.

I have seen the light! Please help me learn more!

Hey, Chevron One. I suppose the "Shippers" are as exclusively a Stargate name as anything, but even they are beginning to be labeled for a variety of shows, so it can't necessarily be called Stargate for much longer. Other than that, I don't think anything has really stood out. "Stargate fans" for now, I suppose.

Comment

I don't know what Davey is on about. I've always thought of Stargate fans as "gaters".

"Shippers" is a pretty exclusive sub-category and not at all applicable to the fandom at large. It'd be like calling everyone "Jonasarians". The Jonas-bashers would be livid...

Comment

Originally posted by ShadowMaat
        "Shippers" is a pretty exclusive sub-category and not at all applicable to the fandom at large.
        Well that's what I meant of course- it couldn't apply to everyone

Still, we're a pretty long way from becoming a dictionary term.

Comment

What Shadow said. "Shippers" is a sub-category (and there are sub-categories within that, as well). I've also seen "shippers" used in reference to other shows, so it's more of an idea/plot reference than a specific show.