This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Writing Carson -- possible spoilers for any and all SGA eps to this point

(I'm a newbie, so please forgive me and feel free to point me to the threads if this horse is long dead and beyond the point of beating for any further return.)

Taking a look back through the last two and a half seasons at what were, for me, the episodes where Carson was best integrated into the plot and not just an afterthought? It seems that Carl Binder is the writer with the best handle on both the character and balancing his interactions with the team. First season it was a bit more even handed, with Kindler penning Poisoning the Well and Gero The Storm/The Eye. But since then CB seems to be the only writer with a deft touch at including Carson where he doesn't seem to be either a set decoration or a tacked on afterthought, or there to spew diagnoses and dialogue--as seemed to be his main function in The Tao of Rodney.

For me, that means episodes like Inferno, Phantoms, the Hive, Before I Sleep and Letters From Pegasus. Even Irresistable, with it's mixed reception from the fans, was arguably a great Carson episode. (I thought it was wonderfully funny, unlike the followup by M&M.) And while I liked Carson's inclusion in Common Ground this season, Rambo!Carson going in ahead of the Marines with guns in a combat situation required too much suspension of disbelief on my part.

Sateda, Robert Cooper's episode, is another good use of Carson where he feels integrated into the episode rather than an afterthought. Then again, Robert Cooper co-wrote Rising, so I'm not surprised--not like I was when I discovered that all of the episodes on my "Best Carson eps" list were Binder's, and a great many of my favorite episodes in general were as well.