PDA

View Full Version : DHD Vs Dialing computer thought...



oflyboy
November 22nd, 2006, 06:28 PM
Right we all know that when you have two stargates on a planet the one hooked up to DHD is the one which takes presedent and therefore is the one which all incoming wormholes should go to. In 'Watergate' we are told that the Russians carefully monitored the SGC to make sure that they only connected the DHD to the gate when the one in the SGC was not being used so that there would not be any misplaced traffic. Therefore if we take this to be the truth why do all of the incoming woreholes in series 1 before 'Solitudes' go to the SGC? The DHD in Antartica is hooked up to the gate and works as you can see in the episode, Carter is able to dial up the gate, it is simply that they are on the same planet that she cannot get a lock, not because of any problems with the DHD - Gate connection. Therefore pervious to the removal of the gate and DHD from Antartica all incoming gate travel should have gone to Antartica first.

Anyone care to explain??

TheUnknown
November 22nd, 2006, 06:38 PM
Right we all know that when you have two stargates on a planet the one hooked up to DHD is the one which takes presedent and therefore is the one which all incoming wormholes should go to. In 'Watergate' we are told that the Russians carefully monitored the SGC to make sure that they only connected the DHD to the gate when the one in the SGC was not being used so that there would not be any misplaced traffic. Therefore if we take this to be the truth why do all of the incoming woreholes in series 1 before 'Solitudes' go to the SGC? The DHD in Antartica is hooked up to the gate and works as you can see in the episode, Carter is able to dial up the gate, it is simply that they are on the same planet that she cannot get a lock, not because of any problems with the DHD - Gate connection. Therefore pervious to the removal of the gate and DHD from Antartica all incoming gate travel should have gone to Antartica first.

Anyone care to explain??

Didn't she say that something was wrong with the DHD, so she had to reset it?

oflyboy
November 22nd, 2006, 06:45 PM
No she thought that there was something wrong with it because she couldn't get a lock, due to being on earth already. You can't dial another stargate on the same planet that is what goes wrong. There is nothing wrong with the connection or the DHD themselves. If you watch the episode she manages to dial the gate perfectly its just that the gate won't lock.

SaberBlade
November 23rd, 2006, 05:02 PM
Reseting the DHD is still a viable explanation, as it wasnt until Carter had reset the DHD and tried to dial that someone at the SGC had noticed the gate responding. Plus, after the first dial, Jackson said that they had just received information so the SGC was still sending out probes and parties and would have seen it.

On top of that, it wasn't until Carter had reset the DHD that the cavern they were in started to shake. First time it didn't, second time it did, so reseting the DHD seems to have allowed them to dial out, but being on the same planet stopped it. The SGC also started to shake the second time, but it didn't the first. So it does go to show that before the reset, the DHD wasn't working properly.

You also have to consider that the DHD was covered by ice for thousands of years, and that could have frozen the DHD so completely that the stargate didn't detect it. Instead, Earth's own DHD and the Egypt gate would be the only ones that an offworld gate would be able to connect to because both were frozen and any connection would go to the egypt gate because it's not being blocked or interfered with. Even power from the DHD seemed to be limited because the gate's chevrons weren't as normal as they should have been.

teletran
December 14th, 2006, 03:29 PM
I'm fairly sure that any stagate not buried or blocked can receive an incoming wormhole regardless of wether or not it has a DHD so if we assume that the antarctic DHD was in some way disconnected then the question becomes why, with two unburied DHDless gates on the same planet did all earthbound traffic arrive at the SGC rather than randomly discharging between the two operational gates? My theory is that an incoming wormhole will more readily lock onto a gate that is already powered, we know from "Nemesis" that the gate can store enough energy to open an out going wormhole.
Presumably the primary gate is whichever was last charged and the antarctic gate had simply 'gone cold' (in terms of power levels not temperature), the DHD uses a more compatible power source ("Heroes") and so when connected would 'burn hotter' that the SGC gate.

Dutch_Razor
December 14th, 2006, 10:08 PM
It's along time ago, but instead freezing like hell they could've just dialed a desert planet? LoL.

Purple Yin
December 16th, 2006, 02:32 AM
so, the antarctic gate had a DHD hooked up to it the whole time the SGC was using their gate as the return gate...
o_0
Am I missing something, or should I dismiss it as a plot hole?

SaberBlade
December 16th, 2006, 03:04 AM
so, the antarctic gate had a DHD hooked up to it the whole time the SGC was using their gate as the return gate...
o_0
Am I missing something, or should I dismiss it as a plot hole?

You should read through the previous posts as that's what's being discussed, if it was a plothole or not.

I still say that the Gate and the DHD were frozen over so much that neither were working correctly and weren't being detected by any other gate. Instead the Egypt gate was the only one being detected and that it took a great force to cause the Antarctic gate to respond.