The Invisible Map

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Invisible Map

Hi! I'm new to the Lost forum (was on the SGA board as you can tell from my sig!) and I'm LOVING IT!! I don't know anyone in my small town who watches Lost, so my sweetie and I have no one to talk about it with!

Unfortunately I don't OWN any of the episodes (rented the discs from the video store) so I can't rewatch them when I want to refresh my memory , so please forgive me if I occasionally screw up my details a bit!

My current obession is the MAP!! I found two great pics of the map.

This is "as it appears" in the episode:
    http://www.damiansplace.com/Pics/Lost/map.jpg

and this is the map with the graffitti and notations made clear (complete with translations of all the latin! (except they forgot to translate the phrase Aegrescit Medendo, which means "the ailment worsens as the cure is applied".
    http://www.barnapkins.org/lost/map.jpg

I'm intrigued by the scribbled out station/hatch in the upper left!
    Also, notice that some stations/hatches are outlined with dotted lines and some with solid lines.

Thoughts? Theories?

AT
    Last edited by thistledown; 12 September 2006, 11:54 PM.
    thistledown
    sigpic

Well, CV I, CV II, CV III, etc could be Roman Numerals, but unlikely due to the gap after CV. If it were the case, CVIII would be 108... Which is interesting...

Another Theory, is that CV stands for Cerberus Vent, a Hole in the Ground for The Monster/Security System, due to the Greek/Roman Myth of the 3 headed beast, guarding to The 'Underworld' (which the hieroglyphics traslate to)...

Also, the 3 Head's could be the Organic Creature, the Tech Creature & Smoke Creature. The Tech Creature was the Creature that tried to drag Locke down a Hole, possibly a 'Vent?'

If all that was the case, The Losties would be in trouble due to CV II, CV III & CV IV being right next to the Swan...