PDA

View Full Version : Technical question if you will?

Darkstar
July 6th, 2006, 01:31 AM
OK so I hit a snag of sorts, I'm Writing a Fic story at the moment that includes Earth's sun, basicly the sun itself is used as a means to threaten and damage Earth, but the small problem is that I am a little of a obsesive perfectionist and before i fully finish up this idea I just want to ask a question relating to the above because I'm no scientist and could use the grey matter of somebody who may know more about it.

Q: What Element/Material in a theoretical or actual sense be required to make a star expand unaturally and in a short space of time, see I would think off the top of my head that because our sun is made mainly of Hydrogen that perhaps more Hydrogen may be required to be infused into the sun and cause it to basically chain with the extra Hydrogen and burn hotter and increase in mass, I could be wrong but I would be very appreciative to know in a nutshell just so I don't make some silly error on what may be a simple series of facts.
:D

Commander Ivanova
July 6th, 2006, 03:01 AM
Technical, huh? You weren't kidding.
Think you need to get Carter or McKay on this one. Unless one of the 100s of theoretical physicists on Gateworld can take a break from their important thunking, whumping and shipping duties to help you out.

Wraith Scientist
July 6th, 2006, 08:22 AM
There is no element that you can drop into a star that will make it burn hotter or explode or anything like that.

Here's my best suggestion:

Take a minature black hole and throw it into the star. The black hole will fall to the centre of the star and start to consume the gas around it and will grow in size. The gas will heat up immensely due to fusion and friction. The star will collapse into the black hole in a massive supernova-like gamma-ray burst.