Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When did Doctor Who change from Adventurer to Crusader?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When did Doctor Who change from Adventurer to Crusader?

Not that its a bad thing, I noticed a very different 'feel' between the 1st season (William Hartnell) and the 1st season of the NEW Doctor Who (technically season 27)? I will admit while i am a BIG Doctor Who fan, I have yet to watch even a fraction of the episodes. I've watched almost the entire first season of Doctor Who, and I've seen the new series, but I haven't seen much of Doctor Who 2-8 yet (though I plan on it!). So I don't know if its a gradual thing or a sudden thing.

When does the feeling of "adventuring" change? Obviously they do still do that, but it just feels different compared to the older shows.

I THINK that maybe the Jon Pertwee era moved Who into the crusader area, as there was a lot less to explore, and it was more about foiling alien invasion.

Though he's never been as much of a crusaders as he is now.

"Five Rounds Rapid"

sigpic

Comment

I don't feel like he ever changed
      Tis No Fool to lose what He can not keep, To gain what he will never Lose

Comment

Good question. He definitely became a crusader in the 60s and that makes sense considering the level of activism during that time.

Specifically, I attribute this change to Innes Lloyd taking over as producer and Gerry Davis taking over as script editor.

The first obvious instance of this was in The Savages.

Prior to this, the Doctor and his companions got entangled in a plot and were only trying to protect themselves.

In The Savages, the Doctor clearly has a choice to not get involved, but he still chooses to.

Now we saw more and more crusading from The Power of the Daleks on. In fact, it became part of Patrick Troughton's performance as the Doctor.