Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ultimate Tech Thread

Ok, im a noob, so go easy.
    How about thinking how to make the technologies seen in stargate a reality? I got some ideas for inertial dampeners, a crude 'ZPM' device, and FTL travel

Inertial dampeners/artificial gravity:
    (idea 1) simply put, a rotating heavy mass. Imagine a hollow torus filled with a heavy plasma. Electromagnets on the exterior of the torus accelerate the plasma to relativistic speeds. Then, general relativity takes over by 'increasing' the mass of the plasma, and increasing the gravitational pull of the plasma. Any matter near the device would conduct itself relative to the device rather than an external gravity source. (Based on the theory of the late Proffessor Robert Foreward)

(idea 2) electrogravity: some experimental work done in the 1940's has shown that high voltage DC current, when applied to parrallel plates (ie capacitor) results in a distortion of the surrounding gravity field. Dr Townsend Brown demonstrated this technology to the US army in the early part of last century. Needless to say, that research all of a sudden stopped...

Now for ZPE...
    actually, im not sure weather this is exactly ZPE, but if magnets store potential energy, and can repell against each other, why not set 3 up 120 degrees apart on an axel, use 2 additional magnets to get the axel moving, and hook it up to a generator?

and FTL travel (Faster than Light)