This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MAJOR SPOILERS -- "Rising" complete synopsis

For those who want to be surprised by elements of "Rising," DON'T READ THIS. Now, this is my first attempt at writing a synopsis, so please bear with me.
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -----------------
    Overall, "Rising" looks very good. It draws together many of the positive elements of Stargate SG-1, including high production quality, good writing and likable characters. Although almost every special effect in the copy I viewed wasn't complete, I think that as with the effects in its parent series, the effects in Atlantis will be some of the best on television, and better than some movies.

"Rising" opens with Atlantis lifting off from Earth, leaving behind a woman who looks similar to Ayiana from "Frozen," then the city does an Asgard flash and disappears. The scene changes to the present day, and the Antarctic research station over the site where Jack led the team to the Ancient's Earth defense station, and apparently the same place where Atlantis lifted off.

Beneath the research station a multinational team of scientists is busy examining the station. We pass by several busy scientists studying Ancient technology. In the room with the control chair, we find McKay arguing with Beckett to get him to sit in the chair Jack used to activate the station. It turns out Beckett is one of a handful of people who possess a rare gene that is the same as one possessed by the Ancients and allows people with it to operate some of the Ancients' more lethal technology.

As usual, Daniel hurries in with exciting news to help advance the story. He's figured out the location of Atlantis. It seems that as in "The Fifth Race" the location of Atlantis requires eight symbols, not seven, placing it somewhere in the Pegasus galaxy.