Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Star Trek: TOS ~ What To Watch?

Please be kind.
    Do not post any spoilers for the new film.

I am new to Star Trek the Original Series, however I am familiar with The Next Gen. and Voyager. I really want to see the new film, but I want to familiarize myself with the Original Series as much as possible. Most of the episodes are resets (The series is essentially episodic: meaning during the course of an episode, few fundamental changes are made to the arc of the series). I have managed to work my way though the major episodes in season 1.

My question to all of you Star Trek fans out there is: which episodes should I watch to best familiarize myself with the Original Series? Include the valid films and please make your list in chronological order.

Here is a list of what I've seen thus far:
    The Man Trap
    Charlie X
    Where No Man Has Gone Before
    The Naked Time
    Enemy Within
    Balance of Terror
    Tomorrow is Yesterday
    Space Seed
    Errand of Mercy
    The City on the Edge of Forever

I plan to eventually go back to watch the full series. But I'll never make it through before the film leaves theaters. Help . . .

I love the entire series and am currently in the process of watching it all sorted by stardate (not that that's important in the least, it's just a new way for me to watch it), but here's a breakdown of important and/or best episodes:

The Cage
    Where No Man Has Gone Before
    The Corbomite Maneuver
    The Naked Time
    Balance of Terror
    The Conscience of the King
    The Menagerie
    The City on the Edge of Forever
    Space Seed
    Amok Time
    Mirror, Mirror
    The Trouble With Tribbles
    Wolf in the Fold
    The Tholian Web
    Let That Be Your Last Battlefield