Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Replicators - Where do I find more info and episodes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Replicators - Where do I find more info and episodes?

Hi,

I am a researcher who is interested in modular robotics. I was recently told that in Stargate a "technology" is features, that resembles what could be considered a self-replicating modular robot. I did some research in the Omnipedia of this great website and came across this article about Replicators.

I have never watched Stargate so I did some searching on Youtube for some of the characters and terms included in this article and found out that there seem to be two distinct types of Replicators: Older ones which are based on some biological concept and evolved to look human-like (these seem to be called the Asuran race). But then there is a newer type of Replicators which look like big insect bugs and are visible made out of modules. I like those more, because they look more like modular robots!

Here are my questions to you Stargate enthusiasts:
    • Did I understand things right, is what I write in the above paragraph correct?
    • Can someone point me to scene where the science behind the new type replicators is explained or where they are shown in great detail?
    • And finally, where could I get hold of this scene (if there is one). I could, of course, buy a DVD pack. But are there other (legal) ways to watch Stargate, maybe on some internet streaming portal like Hulu or Netflix?

Your help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Jonas

do you know kieron physics?

Comment

well to offer more help:

THis is usefull

Comment

Originally posted by thekillman View Post
        do you know kieron physics?
        Hehe.. Stargate joke.

Episodes with Replicators in them include.. (These are all SG-1 episodes)

3.22 Nemesis
        4.1 Small Victories
        5.1 Enemies
        5.19 Menace
        6.12 Unnatural Selection