Shields and Nuclear Bombs ...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shields and Nuclear Bombs ...?

Do nuclear bombs/explosions do damage to shields, because i don't quite remember it that well but apophis's ship took a direct hit to the shield's ..(not sure if the nuke went off or the missile hit the shield and failed to detonate) and did no damage, yet, the daedalus was damaged by goauld/lucian alliance space mines in that episode.
    Here's a pic.

Someone please explain this to me, as i am modding this game and making a few StarGate ship's so i need to know this.
    Last edited by pbutter; 14 February 2008, 08:29 AM. Reason: oops, wrong pic.

i would say yes...
    Spoiler:
    Disclaimer:
    I have been using this username since 1998, it has no connection to "The Last Airbender", or James Cameron's movie.
    Quotes!
    - "Things will not calm down, Daniel Jackson, they will in fact calm up!"
    - "I hope you like Guinness Sir, I find it a refreshing alternative to... food"
    - "I'm Beginning to regret staying up late to watch "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigalo" last night... Check that, i regretted it almost immediately"
    sigpic

Comment

From the visual of the missiles hitting Apophis's shields, most people would say they didn't detonate (myself included).
      But there was a piece of dialouge saying the EMP was effecting things, which would lead you to believe that they DID detonate.

Also... why wouldn't a nuclear explosion damage shields?

Comment

Well, then that settles it, nukes do damage shields.
        However, why dont they use nuke-armed missiles on shielded vessels.. uhhh... those writers !!!

Comment

You would have to design/time them to go off on impact. There's no reason a nuclear explosion wouldn't damage a shield, you just have to make it go off when it hits.

Comment

Why will a nuclear explosion in space not inflict so much damage???