PDA

View Full Version : Music Score for "This Mortal Coil"

Briangate78
December 8th, 2007, 12:52 PM
Well as a musician I notice the little things about the music and whatnot. I thought the music score for this episode was done very well. It really set the mood to what was happening. Between, the character moments, escaping from the replicators, and Sheppard and Mckay watching the tracker track all those Aurora class ships. Really set the mood the music.

Any Thoughts?

Platschu
December 8th, 2007, 12:56 PM
I really like the melody, when Weir appeared on screen. It was a new version of "Messages", so a reference to Rising, when she left the video note for her boyfriend. ;)

Lt.Colonel John Sheppard
December 8th, 2007, 01:06 PM
okay what do you say aBout the music. i like the music when John Sheppard and Rodney Mckay see elizabeth for the first time and they look surprised to see them this was before the commerical break. that was the saddest music score i ever heard.

Avenger
December 8th, 2007, 01:16 PM
There was a throwback to the original SG theme as well that caught me ear.

Jumper_One
December 8th, 2007, 01:26 PM
yeah the music was great, I also mentioned that in my ep review. Joel Goldsmith did an awesome job!

PG15
December 8th, 2007, 07:01 PM
It was FABULOUS.

I love the mechanical clinks and clangs heard throughout the episode, as a slight derivation of the original Replicator theme. I love choral music, so that was a plus too. The whole audio background during the fake-team scenes was different from the usual, smoother themes, and really added an alien/haunted house kind of feeling that I absolutely loved.

Joel did good. He did very good.

Ugly Pig
December 9th, 2007, 04:25 AM
Is it just me, or has the music in general this year been kicked up a notch in comparison to previous seasons? It just seems there are more actual... melodies now in the score, action scenes and all...

P2J
December 9th, 2007, 04:32 AM