This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stargate Tech in Real Life Thread

I know there was another thread like this but was unable to find it. Anyway, this thread is for new recent advances in tech that are similar or setting us on the path to becoming more like the Earth we know in the Stargate franchise. So basically post links to articles of real life tech.

http://www.livescience.com/imageofth...od_071022.html
    Unique crystalline structure has unique ferroelectric properties that could allow for better memory and may open up the front for quantum computers.

Best Stargate quote:
    Sheppard: (yells to McKay) Canadian football is a joke! Celine Dion is overrated! Zelenka is smarter than you are!
    Green is your friend.

I'm no expert and do not profess to be one either, but I understand the basic principle behind crystals, in essence they can be used in computers to great advantage, and many other application also:

[] Computer memory drives, they can store information much like they could in the STU, Goa'uld ships and technology use Crystal technology to store all sorts of information, in modern aplications they could increase the capacity of a average magnetic hardrive by something like 100 fold, super computers could be a thing of the past and future computers in the home could be the hub of the home, to augment all electronic devices through the hub, all information regarding everything could be stored on a crystal.

[] Crystals I'm told can work in a simlilar priciple of great electronic capcity, making them astounding capcitors and safer to use than super conductive metals.

All in all, I think the priciple behind Crystals could be the next great step in technology, instead of Hardrives, Batteries, Microchips, the computing capacity and storage of electricity would make for a great leap in advancment.

In theory crystals or so I've read, could be used in theorectical applications for: