This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Frak, Frell and Gorram

I was thinking earlier about fictional swear words that sci-fi shows like to use to get away with what we know is swearing without it having to be an adults show. Frak from BSG, Frell from Farscape and Gorram from Firefly are the best examples i could think of.

1, Can anyone think of any others?
    2, What is your favourite?

Personally i like Frell, i think it can be used in more situations than Frak or Gorram, which are sort of replacement or "futurised" words rather than Frell which i feel is more like a fusion of words making a whole new one.
    Spoiler:
    Disclaimer:
    I have been using this username since 1998, it has no connection to "The Last Airbender", or James Cameron's movie.
    Quotes!
    - "Things will not calm down, Daniel Jackson, they will in fact calm up!"
    - "I hope you like Guinness Sir, I find it a refreshing alternative to... food"
    - "I'm Beginning to regret staying up late to watch "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigalo" last night... Check that, i regretted it almost immediately"
    sigpic

Firefly didn't invent gorram, that one's been around for a long time.

Comment

It has? I never heard it until firefly.

But my point remains,
      Spoiler:
      Disclaimer:
      I have been using this username since 1998, it has no connection to "The Last Airbender", or James Cameron's movie.
      Quotes!
      - "Things will not calm down, Daniel Jackson, they will in fact calm up!"
      - "I hope you like Guinness Sir, I find it a refreshing alternative to... food"
      - "I'm Beginning to regret staying up late to watch "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigalo" last night... Check that, i regretted it almost immediately"
      sigpic

Comment

Zark is used in AHHGTTG

Comment