This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Asgard and the Federation

I was thinking earlier today about how the Asgard and the Federation of star trek (TNG Era) have very similar levels of technology, even though the asgard are at least 30,000 years more advanced than us, and were possibly gifted with technology from the ancients at some point, wheras the Federation are only around 500 years ahead of us, and i dont think they were gifted with or have stolen much technology.
    Does this seem odd to anyone else or just me.
    Spoiler:
    Disclaimer:
    I have been using this username since 1998, it has no connection to "The Last Airbender", or James Cameron's movie.
    Quotes!
    - "Things will not calm down, Daniel Jackson, they will in fact calm up!"
    - "I hope you like Guinness Sir, I find it a refreshing alternative to... food"
    - "I'm Beginning to regret staying up late to watch "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigalo" last night... Check that, i regretted it almost immediately"
    sigpic

It's impossible to compare technological abilities based on 2 entirely seperate universes.

They both have big ships, shields & energy weapons as well as a transporter.

Asgard can travel between IDA & the MW in a matter of mins. While it takes Federation ships many many years to cross a single quadrant of the MW galaxy.

Their beaming tech is point to point. Whereas Federation transporters aren't.

It's pretty much impossible to compare them, but if I had to, I'd say the SG universe is far more advanced than that of ST.

Comment

Originally posted by Wraith_Boy View Post
      It's impossible to compare technological abilities based on 2 entirely seperate universes.

They both have big ships, shields & energy weapons as well as a transporter.

Asgard can travel between IDA & the MW in a matter of mins. While it takes Federation ships many many years to cross a single quadrant of the MW galaxy.