X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Point of Origin flaws/question

Now, I may be wrong about this, but here it goes anyway:

If each planet has its own unique Point of Origin, then why does Earth's POO show up on just about every Gate and DHD? Yes, I understand the producers probably tried to save on props, but then again maybe its a flaw. I know that some planets POO's are just regular Gate symbols, but if POO's cannot be used for more that 2 gates, than that only leaves 39 possibilities. After that, unique symbols must be used like with Earth, Abydos, the Secondary Gate, and countless others.

No, I'm not an expert on Stargate Physics like some other Stargate geeks, but I have watched all the episodes and was curious.

CAREFUL! Your standing right next to a plothole!
    www.theamericanright.com

A website by the people, for the people.

Comment

Ive always seen it as the POO is also address symbol. ie, the point in space is our solar system.

Comment

Apparently, there are the 38 fixed symbols on each Gate/DHD, and then the one unique POO. But some Gates use one of the fixed symbols as POO's, presumably leaving a 'hole' where the unique should be. This also states that DHD's and Gates cannot be mixed and matched (unless you were to tamper with the DHD's programming).

Also, the POO's don't refer to the Gate itself but the Gate's position in space. Which brings up yet another flaw. Moving a Gate would mean reconfiguring the POO and then what? Taking a picture of the new POO and taping it over the old one?

Comment

In the Stargate SG-1 Official Visual Guide or whatever it was called, it explained that every Stargate has on its inner track a unique point-of-origin symbol. That symbol, however, is not on the DHD. Every DHD has the same symbol not found on the Stargate. It's a universal point-of-origin button. Otherwise, they'd have to figure out the point-of-origin symbol for every planet they'd visit in order to leave.