No announcement yet.

Sam Carter/Amanda Tapping Discussion/Appreciation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

astro: Great clips, NC! Thanks so much for posting them for us!
    Now, as a college professor, I have to say that I'm sorry that AT felt stupid when using food to try and help people understand the physics... Usually we teachers are proud of anything we use as a visual aid when explaining abstract concepts within our field to those outside of our field. So the donut and the fruit - they can be great visual aids... I'll use whatever's handy - and if people's eyes spark with understanding, then I'm proud of that salt-shaker-cum-volcano or that donut-cum-wormhole. And besides, it's fun! So, I'm a bit disappointed that AT thought the food-visuals were stupid... in education, we rarely have cool scale models of everthing - especially not when we want them... like when sitting in IHOP with a friend... and of course, they want me (their geologist friend) to explain the earthquake and tsunami in the Indian Ocean. I'll gladly use whatever props are on the table.

And... when they talk about wanting to see the 4 main heroes fail... ala Red Sky... (or Gemini... both are major Carter screw-ups)... I agree with some of what they said, and disagree with other parts of it. I can understand that if you allow the heroes to fail in an episode or so, then it adds suspense and mystery to subsequent episodes... because you won't know that they are going to succeed every time... maybe they will fail again.