Sam Carter/Amanda Tapping Discussion/Appreciation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by ForeverSg1
    Onto another topic... I just wanted to tell you again how much I really admire the great work you do with the photos of Sam.
    I finally got a program to capture pictures from the DVD and as
    much as I play around with them, none of them look half as great
    as yours. Do you have a background in photography? Or is
    this just a talent you've acquired in time? Maybe I still have a
    small chance. ForeverSG1
    I was saying it Ka-less-ta in my head too, so I'm glad that you posted the correct pronunciation! And thanks for the nice comments about my pics - I don't have a background in photography or any such... I'm a geologist by training.... What I do is take the screen caps into Photoshop and follow a couple of simple steps that I've found (by trial and error) work best for me. First, I trim(crop) the pics of anything that is extraneous. Next, I size the pic - usually so that it's only 150 pixels hi (I try and keep them small so that they don't overwhelm anyone's ISP when they view them). Third, I arrange the pics in a sequence (panel). Because the screen caps are usually so dark, I then run the AutoLevels filter... and I usually don't like those results, so I undo it and then manually play with the brightness and contrast controls. Finally, I run a couple of sharpness filters to see which looks best. Photoshop has thousands of other options and filters... and whenever I play with them, the pic ultimately looks worse and worse... so I don't play around much with the full power of the program.

Edit addition:
    After I'd posted the above stuff, I continued reading new posts and found your wonderful screen cap panel from Demons

[/indent]Jack's little Dr. Evil Impersonation