This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cure for aging

I'm no scientist so I'm not sure this is plausible but...

Transporters, whether Asgard, Wraith, or the Star Trek versions store a person's pattern so they can rematerialize them right?
    If that's the case, couldn't you simply store a previous pattern and have yourself rematerialized based on that pattern, say a younger version of yourself?

The fly in this plan is that you'd also lose any new memories formed after the pattern is stored... but if you're an Asgard you could always just save them and download them.

Does this make sense to anyone else but me?

It would be interesting to see someone using the method in the show.

"You know what would make a good story? Something about a clown who makes people happy, but inside he's real sad. Also, he has severe diarrhea." - Jack Handy

Most physicists dont believe transporters could ever work

But in a fictional setting its possible

In Star Trek they said that the replicators couldnt clone people because replicators work at a 'molecular-level resolution' and transporters work at a 'quantum resolution'

The number of atoms in your body changes as you age - what if you got thinner where would you get the extra matter from?
    gumboYaYa: you are all beautiful, your words and openness are what make that shine. don't forget how much talent love and beauty you all have.
    so for now, peace love love love more love and happy, and thank you, thank you, thank you
    love Torri

Comment

Or they could just work on better medicinal technology. There was quite a stir on telomere research not too long ago.

Now with added lesbians.

Comment

Originally posted by Three PhDs
        Or they could just work on better medicinal technology. There was quite a stir on telomere research not too long ago.