PDA

View Full Version : Cure for aging

MarshAngel
August 30th, 2005, 10:07 AM
I'm no scientist so I'm not sure this is plausible but...

Transporters, whether Asgard, Wraith, or the Star Trek versions store a person's pattern so they can rematerialize them right?
If that's the case, couldn't you simply store a previous pattern and have yourself rematerialized based on that pattern, say a younger version of yourself?

The fly in this plan is that you'd also lose any new memories formed after the pattern is stored... but if you're an Asgard you could always just save them and download them.

Does this make sense to anyone else but me?

It would be interesting to see someone using the method in the show.

Qasim
August 30th, 2005, 10:16 AM
Most physicists dont believe transporters could ever work

But in a fictional setting its possible

In Star Trek they said that the replicators couldnt clone people because replicators work at a 'molecular-level resolution' and transporters work at a 'quantum resolution'

The number of atoms in your body changes as you age - what if you got thinner where would you get the extra matter from?

Three PhDs
August 30th, 2005, 10:21 AM
Or they could just work on better medicinal technology. There was quite a stir on telomere research not too long ago.

ToasterOnFire
August 30th, 2005, 10:37 AM
Or they could just work on better medicinal technology. There was quite a stir on telomere research not too long ago.
True, but I don't know if any of that research has panned out. Telomerase is an enzyme that keeps DNA on the end of chromosomes from degrading each time the DNA is duplicated when a cell divides. Apparently later in life there is either less telomerase or it is less active, which some researchers think contributes to aging via chromosome degradation. They think that reactivating or preventing the telomerase from shutting down would help prevent aging, but I'm not completely convinced yet.