PDA

View Full Version : SPOILERS- Humans & Ancient tech

ShadowMaat
June 9th, 2004, 09:01 AM
I'm a little curious... have they said what percentage of humans possess the gene that allows them to operate Ancient tech? Could someone run the numbers and calculate the odds of multiple Ancient-gene-possessing people working on the Stargate Project? It just feels like an awfully big coincidence. But then, I really suck at math. I'm numerically dyslexic. :)

Anubis
June 9th, 2004, 09:09 AM
As far as I know, I don't think there is a percentage, however it does say that only 1 in 16,000 people on Earth can operate the tech. I'm not that good at math to know the answer to that. But divide the population on Earth by 16,000 and you'll get the answer and then down to how many SGC/Atlantis people there are and you'll get the result

SGSlugger
June 9th, 2004, 11:13 AM
I think that the percent is somewhere around 1 or lower. It can't be very high. Well Jack and Sheppard both have the gene, so that has to be a large coindindent.

Presumably, if the people living in the Peagus galaxy are descendants of the Ancients, then they would have to possess the gene.

Aither
June 9th, 2004, 11:13 AM
So, there are 6,000,000,000 / 16,000 = 375,000 people who can operate the Ancients' technologies on Earth :)

ShadowMaat
June 9th, 2004, 11:17 AM
So, there are 6,000,000,000 / 16,000 = 375,000 people who can operate the Ancients' technologies on Earth :)
And of those 375,000 what are the odds that at least two or three of them would be working in the same place? And keep in mind the highly specialized nature of the work that would go on at SGC.

SGSlugger
June 9th, 2004, 11:23 AM
Well perhaps the gene also accounts for an above-average intelligence? If the SGC is employing the brightest of the bright, then the Ancient gene could give them a better chance of getting in.

I think though, that it would have to be a coincidence.

KorbenDirewolf
June 9th, 2004, 11:34 AM