PDA

View Full Version : Gate Addresses

Mr_Alpha_Omega
May 4th, 2005, 02:40 PM
I'm new to Stargate, and I was wondering if someone could me link to a good explanation of how gate addresses work?

Much Thanks :D

6thMonolith
May 4th, 2005, 04:41 PM
The PX3--- addresses are completely made up. Otherwise, the symbols on a gate are used to find an exact point in space using three intersecting lines and a point of origin. I'm not exactly sure of how the gate addresses were made by the Ancients, but the Omnipedia is a good place to check.
http://www.gateworld.net/omnipedia/technology/s/stargate.shtml

spg_1983
May 4th, 2005, 05:07 PM
its never been sufficiently explained in the show how exactly the symbols work. in the movie it was explained that the symbols were constelations as seen from earth and those were the points used for charting the destination. while that explanation was suitable for the movie where there was only one destination and the gate only went between abydos and earth and there were no Ancients, it doesnt work for the show. the problem arises first from the idea that the gate uses constelations as the points to map a course. constelations are not single points in space, they are made up of stars spread over hundreds of light years. also the specific arrangements of stars that make up the constelations are only seen from earth so even if they did use the constelations as mapping points, you could only chart a course within the sphere (more or less) created by the constelations around earth. while this would still be a large area, it would by no means encompass this whole galaxy, let alone other galaxies which the gate can dial. like i said, in the show they have pretty much glossed over the whole issue because they have not even explained how it is that they can figure our where a planet is just based on its address.